Awakenings – My 2007

7 01 2008

First of all, Happy New Year to all. New Years has to be by far my favorite holiday. I collect New Years memories and this year was particularly memorable. And God, did I need it.

2007 was a year of awakening for me. The entire year was a challenge. My marriage and health crumbled. Professionally I was faced with what turned out to be unsurmountable odds. I received two book rejections and didn’t even hear back from three other agents. I began to lose myself somewhere in the middle of all this change to self destructive tenencies. I didn’t finish editing my first novel. I got 50 pages into my second novel and then got stuck. I ended the year leaving my beautiful home behind and moving back into the flat I lived in seven years ago when I was an intern.

But there are always glimmers of hope. I saw more of my family living 3000 miles away then when I lived in the states. I tangoed in Buenos Aires, visited Paris twice, witnessed the birth of my nephew. I lost 15 pounds. I learned that I will be coming back to the states permanently in 2008. I received a glimmer of the brilliant future awaiting me. I developed my leadership capabilities.

I think that this is what people mean when they say that God doesn’t give you more than you can handle. He gives us doses of the good and the less good. There is no bad, because hopefully all of this serves to better prepare us for the journey ahead.

And everday I thank God for everything I have and everything that I am. I pray that he will continue to make me a better man, with each passing day. I wish the same for you all as well.

“Hope begins in the dark, the stubborn hope that if you just show up and try to do the right thing, the dawn will come.”
~Anne Lamott

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

